Small willow grove

Sausalito, CA (February 2012)

sauzalito (Spanish) – meaning: small willow grove

One of my favorite photo sets was taken during my trip to Sausalito, California. Sausalito is a small town off the San Francisco Bay in Marin County which overlooks the city. It’s an 8-mile bike ride from Fisherman’s Wharf and we had to cross the Golden Gate to get there. This trip has been one of the most adventurous I’ve taken since I braved getting on a bicycle after almost four years of not being on one. It took a lot of courage (and convincing from Gracie:Β “It’s a reflex, Kara. You’ll never lose it.”) but I’m glad I came through because the experience was well worth the trouble.

I hope I’m able to come back to Sausalito in the near future. Though until that time comes, here are some of my favorite shots from that memorable Saturday. Enjoy!

Lavender fields are abundant in Golden Gate Park.
A spectacular view of the city before crossing the bridge.
Bucketlist: to cross the Golden Gate either by bike / by foot — Check!

My Italian friend / counterpart / partner in everything, Francesca. I miss you, Fra!
Touchdown, Sausalito!
Pulled pork bbq with sweet potato fries from Bridgeway Cafe.
Yachts at Port 3.
Grandpa was kind enough to take our photo. Also, he reminded me a lot of my late grandfather. I miss you, Wowo!
Francesca, Kara, and Gracie
We ended the day spending our afternoon by the sea. We took photos (this was my favorite since it reminded me of my friends back in Manila), shared stories, and yes, napped. I miss everything about this trip!
Leave a Reply

