Dreams do come true

The Foghorn - The Official Student Publication of the University of San Francisco

My piece on communication came out in The Foghorn today! It’s my first time to get published internationally and I am truly humbled by this experience.

“There are times where I spoke in class and couldn’t get my point across as I was struggling to find the perfect Tagalog-to-English translation. After watching certain emotional videos or heart-wrenching readings, I would find it difficult to relay my thoughts because the words I knew didn’t have an English equivalent.

It’s not a case of not knowing how to construct sentences properly or misusing the rules of grammar. The barrier stems from my personal history and my identity, just as someone from Europe, let’s say, might have trouble understanding a person of Asian descent. The difficulty for me begins when the clash of cultures make it impossible for a fluid communication to occur—that is, when the context from which we’re speaking differs in so many ways.”

Full article here: http://foghorn.usfca.edu/2012/04/filipina-exchange-student-tongue-tied-in-sf/

Leave a Reply

