Tani’s Kitchen

Cravings are usually a regular for me. Last night, my palate yearned for sushi. After spending the entire afternoon in Japantown to take part in the Cherry Blossom Festival, I can’t believe that my brother and I weren’t able to find a decent place to have a nice Japanese dinner. The area was just too full and there wasn’t any space for two wandering Filipinos such as ourselves. Tired and frustrated, we decided to head back home and to our delight, found a hole in the wall Japanese restaurant just 5 minutes away from our place.

Photo credit: infoUSA

Tani’s Kitchen is located in the Westlake complex in Daly City. It’s something you would miss while on a car or bus, but if you go by foot, you won’t miss the sign hanging above their door. However, most regulars opt to have their orders to go since the place only seats 14 people– six on the counter and two in each of the four mini tables. The place is definitely not for the claustrophobic. Tani’s isn’t what you’d call 5 star, but their food was excellent and reasonably priced. A $20 (~900php) Japanese dinner for two wasn’t bad at all.

Tani's Kitchen - Menu

Franco and I had a nice dinner seated on the counter and had the opportunity to watch the chef make the sushi we ordered. What’s nice about the place is that you know your food is fresh and you get it right at the moment it leaves the kitchen–which was literally two steps away from where we were seated. The service was okay and I could probably blame that on the language barrier (our server had trouble with English), but overall, it was quite the experience and I’m definitely coming back before I fly out to Manila.

What we ordered: Tempura and chicken teriyaki bento, crunchy makimono and Philly makimono.
I give them points for presentation!
Their salad was interesting because it's the first time I've had a spicy twist to my vinaigrette. It also seems like the dressing had freshly pureed tomatoes in it, so that added to the refreshing burst of flavor it had.
Franco and I split the tempura-- he had the shrimp, I had all the veggies.
The bento box was blowing off steam until the end of our meal. Tani's truly defines "hot off the grill".
The sushi plate satisfied my cravings! The Philly was one of the creamiest I've ever had (look at the cheese in that thing!), but I do wish they put in a bit more shrimp inside the crunchy makimono.
I added spicy furikake to my Kikkoman to give it a little bite. It was a nice discovery and I'll surely be doing that again in my future sushi sessions.
Franco enjoyed the meal so much that we decided to save up on a Japanese buffet before we leave for home. If that plan pushes through, expect a Kome blog entry from me in the coming weeks!
Leave a Reply

